Kuala Lumpur Post


MCO in whole Malaysia except Sarawak from January 22

Kuala Lumpur – Senior Defence Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced today that five more states will come under the movement control order (MCO) from January 22, effectively locking down the whole country except Sarawak.

In a press conference this evening, Ismail said the MCO on Kedah, Perak, Negri Sembilan, Terengganu and Pahang will run until February 4.

“The MCO SOP will apply in these places. Business operations will be from 6am to 8pm,” he told the press conference after the National Security Council meeting today.

Sarawak will remain under the conditional MCO.

On January 11, Muhyiddin announced that the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan; Selangor, Melaka, Johor and Sabah will undergo MCO from January 12 until January 26.

Kelantan was later placed under the MCO from January 16 to 29.

Ismail did not say if the MCO was being extended for the states already affected before today’s announcement. – The Malay Mail


You must be logged in to post a comment.